Vertical Pole Build

When I publicly commit to kooky goals, such as training for a Festivus-like, barren-pole feat of strength, there may be some DIY gymnastics/parkour equipment-building involved.
IMG_6301.JPG
Rather than digging a post hole and planting a pole in concrete (which I’ll be doing for more elaborate future project) I decided to mount a pole to the wooden playset in the backyard. (I checked with my kids first — they were cool with it.)
IMG_6308.JPG
I got a 10′ length of 1-1/2″ O.D. galvanized Schedule 40 steel pipe and cut it down to 6′. I don’t own a pipe threader, and the one at my local hardware store is down for maintenance, so I opted to press fit (as in, with a deadblow hammer) the pipe into threaded elbows.


IMG_6309.JPG
Next, I screwed pipe flanges onto the elbows for mounting.
IMG_6317.JPG
After a bit of drilling, I bolted the flanges to the 6×6 posts on the play structure.
IMG_6329.JPG
IMG_6330.JPG
IMG_6332.JPG
IMG_6339.JPG
IMG_6343.JPG
The final result works really well and I’m sure I’ll appreciate having a soft, rubber mulch landing area in case things go awry.

IMG_6397.JPG

