Gymnastics Rings Are Being Sanded (part 2)

BuD1dI6CUAAp8xw

As previously posted in part 1 I’m making wooden gymnastics rings from 1/8″ layers of laser cut baltic birch plywood. Of many possible methods my friends have suggested for sanding them, while keeping their circular profile, I’m starting off the first one with the most low-tech solution. I’m hand sanding them.

BuEMjdoCcAADC2e.jpg-large

 

It is a lot of work. So far, the 60 grit paper is working great at removing the stepped profile and getting a nice, consistent curve.

I joked yesterday that sanding the rings is a better workout than using the rings.

BuEMjkDCEAA5yL2.jpg-largeI’ll move down to finer grits on this one, and then may take a shot at using a power sander and jig or some other higher-tech method for the second ring.

 

One thought on “Gymnastics Rings Are Being Sanded (part 2)

  1. Pingback: Rings Are Being Lasered (part 1) | JPIXL.NET

Comments are closed.