Drop caps

M abye I’m just getting old-fashioned in my old age, but I really love the look of a beautiful drop-cap letter. I was just talking with my friend Mike about a character rigging book I had lent him, in which the binding had disintegrated (on my watch). I told him to enjoy the book, but please, don’t return it without having it re-bound. In tooled leather. He said he’d do so, but only after first buying a second copy of the book so he could mount each page separately on another, larger matted page, and then illuminating it like so many scriveners and monks of yore. Fair enough. I’m not sure this particular book warrants all this attention, but I’m happy to have it done nonetheless.

The beautiful drop-cap above is from the Daily Drop Cap. thanks to @barrymcw for the tip.

